When I’m Not the Shopper

It all started with a friend’s revenge.

Anyone who makes a purchase and finds out he or she bought it for a price twice as much would certainly feel duped. This is exactly what happened to P when she bought sunglasses, so after a little contemplation she decided to buy a dozen more of the lesser cost, put up an online shop and sold them for a higher price. To keep the shop interesting, she invited me and another friend to join and share the site with her, which we did. I started off with six colorful bags, and oh, the joy of selling your first and last item and those in between! Needless to say, one will need to find new things when it’s all been sold, and that is how it got going.

A year or so after, I decided to put up my own site and sold fashion accessories mostly. There are a number of reasons why selling online is favorable: You don’t need to pay rent for a space, pay tax or be time bound. I can only sell so much in a period of time, but I can’t expect it all to be gone in one go. It takes more patience, and together with that are the occasional arduous tasks of looking for new products, posting them online, checking and updating the inventory, and shipping the items to buyers. Even with all those inevitable tasks, it’s not a big deal. With those small accessories, I’ve earned enough to go on a shopping spree. Hell, I can take myself on a trip to a nearby country in Asia for a few days! Of course, this means I have not spent my online shop savings for anything yet, but it’s okay if it’s for something bigger. So whenever I express that I’m bankrupt on school days, it’s not entirely true and it’s not entirely false.

Amazing how the little trinkets I sell can already aid in my future travel plans, no? For now, I’m still waiting for your order form.
1 comment
  1. omygosh steph! ako si P! :D ahahah wait naeexcite ako sa blog mo! and you write so well. hahah namiss kita agad, (im not sure if im going to class tom)

Leave a Reply

